Giving In: Meme

You have stolen this meme because you feel like a literary geek. Copy the questions into your own note, answer the questions, and tag any friends who would appreciate the quiz, including the person who sent you this.

Don’t bother trying to italicize your book titles. We know you want to…

I stole this from someone else’s archives. I’m out of town today, so decided to meme it.

1) What author do you own the most books by?
Robert A. Heinlein, embarrassingly enough. Hey, he was a prolific guy!

2) What book do you own the most copies of?
Between me and Mr. Book, we have four copies of Gravity’s Rainbow.

3) Did it bother you that both those questions ended with prepositions?
Well, sure, but sometimes there’s just no graceful way to avoid it.

4) What fictional character are you secretly in love with?
I’m going to go with my very first fictional crush here and say Nightcrawler, of X-Men fame. Yes, the blue fuzzy one with the yellow eyes and the tail. No, I am not a furry. He is not an animal! He is a person! . . . Who looks like an animal! =/

4a) What fictional character would you most like to be?
Harry Crewe, from The Blue Sword. She is strong and brave in the face of adversity, becomes a heroine, rides and fights wonderfully, falls in love, has kids, and continues to have adventures. She also has dozens of cats and dogs, and servants to clean up after them.

4b) What fictional character do you think most resembles you?
I’m going to have to go with the pre-Beauty Beast; tormented, withdrawn, self-absorbed. On the other hand, once he’s on your side, he is very loyal and caring . . . and in my favorite version, he loves books.

5) What book have you read the most times in your life?
Probably Beauty, referenced above.

6) What was your favorite book when you were ten years old?
Ben Hur. I’m not kidding. I started reading hardbound classics at eight in a lame attempt to impress people, but there were a few that I really loved, and that seem perfect for kids: The Last Days of Pompeii was another. Great adventure stories. I hated Dickens, though, and still do.

7) What is the worst book you’ve read in the past year?
Twilight.

8)What is the best book you’ve read in the past year?
I am completely blanking on this one, so will go with the last good book, which was Life’s Lottery: a choose-your-own-adventure-style book about normal life.

9) If you could force everyone you tagged to read one book, what would it be?
The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle. It’s so good, but people who try Murakami now seem to just read his most recent stuff.

10) Who deserves to win the next Nobel Prize for literature?
No idea.

11) What book would you most like to see made into a movie?
I almost never like movie adaptations of books I’ve read, so I’m going to pick a book I hate: The Magic Mountain.

12) What book would you least like to see made into a movie?

Operating on the principle described above, The Dark Is Rising sequence oh wait. =/

13) Describe your weirdest dream involving a writer, book, or literary character.

I don’t think I’ve had these.

14) What is the most lowbrow book you’ve read as an adult?

Laurel K. Hamilton. But only the early ones!

15) What is the most difficult book you’ve ever read?

Ulysses, I guess.

16) What is the most obscure Shakespeare play you’ve seen?

Titus Andronicus. Don’t even like that play.

17) Do you prefer the French or the Russians?
Um, French? Because I read no Russian.

18) Roth or Updike?
Ew, no, gross.

19) David Sedaris or Dave Eggers?
I like both quite a bit.

20) Shakespeare, Milton, or Chaucer?
Chaucer.

21) Austen or Eliot?
Austen.

22) What is the biggest or most embarrassing gap in your reading?

Very, very spotty reader of poetry over here.

23) What is your favorite novel?
Sunshine—but I won’t admit that to anyone who knows my real name. They get answers like The Moor’s Last Sigh, which I also love.

24) Play?
I can’t remember what it’s called! A one-act about women cleaning the house of another woman arrested for murdering her husband—can anyone help me out?

25) Poem?
Auden’s forever long Tempest stuff.

26) Essay?
“The Santaland Diaries,” maybe? I love personal essays.

27) Short story?
“The Moons of Jupiter” by Alice Munro.

28) Work of non-fiction?
A Staggering Work of Heartbreaking Genius.

29) Who is your favorite writer?
I don’t really have an answer here.

30) Who is the most overrated writer alive today?
Dan Brown.

31) What is your desert island book?
Probably the bible. I know, I know—but if I only get one, and I’m in a bad way. . . .

32) And … what are you reading right now?
It’s a Girl and It’s a Boy.

Too late to tag anyone, I think—but if you want to be tagged, feel tagged.

One thought on “Giving In: Meme

  1. Ahhhh, I love SantaLand Diaries. And I once dropped out of a book club after everyone there except me HATED Dave Egger’s A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius. I didn’t need them all to love it or anything, but to all HATE it? Couldn’t take it.

Leave a Reply

