Isn’t it a little late for morning sickness?

Yesterday was one of those uneventful/eventful kind of days—my morning was spent dealing with a cat poop emergency that left me ready to feed the little furball to coyotes, but it turns out that they don’t have coyotes here (for the record, he is fine, just fussy about litter quality/quantity).  Ended up barfing, hopefully for the last time, and largely provoked by cat poop. Happy fifteen weeks, little bird!

The consult at the midwives’ clinic went well. I will have to give birth in a hospital, I will have to stay there for twenty-four hours after birth, but they seemed like very nice people. It was sort of annoying that the woman we talked to wasn’t able to modify her orientation chat for our circumstances: for example, she was trying to explain that they don’t have many visits early on, and I’m thinking, Which is why I didn’t call you until T2. She also couldn’t bear in mind that I’ve given birth before, and was trying to reassure me about first-timer stuff. So that was frustrating. She also, when they didn’t have the answer I wanted (e.g., you can labor in water but then you have to get out—they don’t do water birth), she tried to persuade me (in a friendly way) that I didn’t really want what I think I want. On the other hand, they seem like very nice people, and I don’t have a lot of options. They did let us hear the heartbeat at the very end, and Mr. Book got all teary-eyed. Since then, he’s kept making the heartbeat noise at random times; I’m so glad that he’s excited about this dad thing.

***

Okay, nope, just threw up again, totally not near or even thinking about any cat poop. My morning sickness took a couple of weeks off, but it’s back!

8 thoughts on “Isn’t it a little late for morning sickness?

  1. Hey, sweetie–just thought of something–aren’t pregnant mommies supposed to stay away from cat poop during pregnancy? You totally should get reprieve from litter duty so as to protect the little Bird.

    Yay for heartbeats! ❤

    • I am officially off duty, but he was at work and going to be gone for another seven hours–can’t let it sit for that long. =/ Thanks for looking out, though.

  2. I hope I didn’t offend by giving preggy advice–I don’t know squat about pregnancy, but I LIVE to find ways out of the kitty litter job!

    • Goodness, no–I wondered whether I should say something about it, but since I’m now terrified that I’ve contracted toxoplasmosis, I decided not to invoke it. Odds are pretty low, though; our cat has been indoor-only his whole life, so if he came to us already infected, I was probably already exposed pre-pregnancy.

  3. Mr. Book’s excitement makes me smile, he is so sweet and a great daddy already. I hope this is not a return of your morning sickness, and merely a fluke.

    • He is totally the sweet one–he keeps leaning on the crib and smiling at it. Thanks for the hope against morning sickness; I guess we’ll see.

  4. Sadly, morning sickness can come around whenever. Stupid hormones.

    Where are you going to give birth? I had Noah at Good Sam (that’s the one in NW Portland, right? If not, it was the one in NW Portland!) and we did birthing classes with some wacky granola midwife outfit way way way way out in SE PDX. Like a zillion miles away. And they were NUTS and scared the bejesus out of me.

    • It’s looking like Providence; I’m not in love, but they seem like reasonable people. Having to stay in the hospital overnight makes me pretty sad, though. Still, these midwives endorse Tums, whereas the women I worked with last time acted as though I was using black tar heroin to help with reflux.

Leave a Reply

