I Did See

Well, I had the big appointment—blood drawn, apparently drug and STD tests (eyeroll! I get it, I’m a low-income pregnant lady. But wow, holy grim assumptions, Batman), peed in a cup, heard the heartbeat, got some delicious glucose to drink for next time, a referral for an ultrasound at the hospital and . . . a quickie ultrasound in the office. 😀 The midwife says that she’s 80 percent sure it’s a girl, and that “I certainly don’t see any sign of a penis or testicles.” She was also rocking out like crazy in utero, so I’m not nuts–I have been feeling her move. I really wish the Mister had been able to go along on this appointment; I’ve got to be sure to schedule the really official ultrasound for a time when he’s not working. When I was walking out of the office, I thought I’m going to have a daughter, and I was so excited that I started to cry. Then I realized that people might get the wrong impression from seeing a weeping pregnant lady, and I pulled myself together.

14 thoughts on “I Did See

  1. Congratulations, mama and little birdgirl! It sounds like it was sort of momentous after all. The poor Mister must have been sorry he missed it!

  2. Thanks so much, everybody–when I did tell the Mister that night, he got all choked up and is now really thoroughly in love. :3

  3. Ok, I am holding off until the other 20% gets confirmed and I am sending you a box of the girliest girl stuff. Girls and their daddies are the sweetest!

Leave a Reply

