2 Genies, 3 Wishes

Another week, another long conversation with my mother. This was a good one, although I was a little stunned to discover afterwards that I’d been on the phone for two hours. I’m cautiously optimistic now, as she seems to still be excited about the little bird—she’s talking about coming up for a week in early December, which would be great. She has decided that we need two diaper genies—I explained that we’re planning on zero diaper genies, and that we can’t get every baby thing and aren’t prioritizing diaper disposal systems, and she said that my sisters will want to get the baby things, and that we should just put the genies on our list. I think this is what most moms of expectant moms do! (I’m not registering for diaper genies.)

I’ve got another appointment with the midwives tomorrow that I just want to skip; I’ll pee in a cup, I’ll hear the heartbeat, and then I’ll take the 45-minute bus trip back to the apartment. I might be more eager to check in if the little bird weren’t so active, but as it is, I know that he must be fine because he’s thumping around every day. I tried to wheedle the husband into giving me permission to reschedule for several weeks in the future, but he was not willing. Maybe one of you nice people could tell me that I don’t have to go? 😉 The one benefit to going to the appointment (in the privacy of my skull, I keep calling it “the stupid appointment”) is that it’s very near to Trader Joe’s, so I can pick up some of their salt and vinegar chips. Oh, right, and real groceries. Whatever.

I’m working under a deadline this week, but hopefully I can become more thoughtful thereafter.

10 thoughts on “2 Genies, 3 Wishes

  1. Hahahaahaha oh I know what you mean about the stupid appointment. But think about it this way – whilst pregnant it is rare to actually HAVE symptoms if you have a UTI. That is, until the really bad ones start. So pee in the cup, dammit! Don’t end up in the hospital like me!

    Dude, salt and vinegar chips are disgusting. Also, very exciting that your mom is excited. She should be! So yay!

    • Oh my god that comment is NOT from Leigh Goldenburg. It is from me. I left it whilst I was at work, apparently under my boss’ name. How mortifying.

  2. Diaper Genies are over-rated. Sure, they are convenient but nothing a garbage can emptied on a daily basis wouldn’t solve.

    Can’t comment on the test, but the chips sound heavenly!

  3. Oh, I’d definitely go just for the Trader Joe’s shopping trip. I LURVE TJ’s!!! I’d get some of the maple cookies (but you make awesome cookies, so no need for you there), some microwavable Indian food for when I’m lazy, and something else on impulse. LOVE it!

  4. For us the Diaper Genie was a must! And reusable diapers an impossibility because there is only so much I can deal with. Both of our children are Super Trooper Poopers. Seriously, they could medal at the Poop Olympics! When our son was newborn, he pooped up to 10 times per day. He is now 22 months and our daughter is 9 months. Today I changed a total of 9 dirty diapers. That is about par for the course. Even daily garbage emptying does not handle the smell. And we also empty the Diaper Genie daily to try to keep on top of it. In fact, I am happy when they poop while we are away from home and I can dump the disposable diaper in a public garbage bin and not deal with it ever again! But this is highly unusual and if they were within normal pooping levels, we would not need the Diaper Genie.

    When it comes to diapering, many people change their minds depending upon their own set of circumstances. I had friends convinced they would use cloth diapers, only to quickly change their mind after the birth of the baby. And I’ve had friends declare that the use of anything other than disposables is silly, only to change their minds when their baby doesn’t deal well with disposables and gets repeated diaper rashes. It all depends upon the baby and each one is different.

    Guess what I am saying is this — keep purchases to a minimum until the baby is born and you know what you need. Newborns need a place to sleep, a place to be changed, a car seat, diapering supplies, feeding-related supplies (whether breast or bottle), a few blankets and some changes of clothes. (You cannot own too many white onesies. Newborns go through these very quickly!) That takes care of the needs. Anything else can easily be added as the need arises. Now, a parent’s (or grandparent’s) wants & wishes are a whole different story!

  5. Love the title of this post! Hope your appointment goes well and that you get some tasty chips at Trader Joe’s. 90 minutes round trip on the bus must drag on…

  6. Hi, Susiebook. I just want to say that I’ve been reading your blog for awhile now and I think it’s one of the most insightful and well-written pieces I’ve read. And I LOVE the wedding picture of you and Mr. Book. You’ll be a fabulous mom.

Leave a Reply

