Never Gonna Happen

We get to buy a bed! Woooo! Seriously, couldn’t be more excited about this; cosleeping will be funner with a little extra room. And if my sister Kate is very lucky, the bed will arrive before she comes to visit, and she and her husband will get to sleep on a futon instead of a pile of blankets and apologies.

 

I’ve been feeling pretty lousy for a few days—more and more contractions, less and less energy—but yesterday, for whatever reason, it was fantastic. I got a ton of work done, I stayed up late doing laundry; if it represented some kind of step backwards, I cannot bring myself to care. It was worth it. Oh, there was still the normal discomfort of weighing five thousand squirming pounds, but I was doing great. Too early to see what today will be like.

 

My mother and I talked for a long time on Sunday; she is planning to visit us the first week in December, and now it looks as though I may fly back with her so that I have some help with baby wrangling when I travel south for my grandmother’s memorial service. That means a week in California and away from the Mister that I hadn’t really planned, and I’m wondering a bit uneasily about how hard that will be—traveling with a newborn, hmm. I guess I’ll need to check a bag?

 

If I don’t have a baby tomorrow, which seems less and less likely as tomorrow gets closer, I’m just going to throw out there that the 23rd would be a nice day—I just found out that one of the lad’s namesake’s birthdays is that day. See, one of the reasons that I’ve felt comfortable throwing “Pete” around on the blog every so often (although I’ll come up with something official once he has arrived) is that his legal name has nothing to do with Pete or Peter; he’s being called after a relative whose name had nothing to do with Pete either, but who was called Pete his whole life for no reason that anyone can explain (well, unless you count the fact that his given name was pretty awful). His birthday, I found out this weekend, was November 23. So, you know, as fallbacks go . . . that would be a pretty cool one.

14 thoughts on “Never Gonna Happen

  1. Travel with a newborn? As easy as it gets until your baby is much older. And I say this as someone who did a 3-day car trip with a 2 day old baby. (He was 5 days old when we got there.) And both of our babies were on a flight by 4 weeks old. Once they start eating solids, it gets a lot harder. And once they reach toddler stage — you have no idea how hard it is to keep an active toddler entertained on an airplane! Newborn travel is easy. They sleep a lot. They eat frequently. And they poop sometimes. Periodically they cry, but the vibration of the plane plus the drone of the engines keeps most of them pretty calm. Just make sure to feed them or have them use a pacifier at take-off and landing or their ears will hurt.

    And yeah, your days of not checking luggage are done until Little Bird is old enough to drag his own suitcase through the airport. Just accept it and move on.

    • Do I need to pack diapers? Or does a sensible person buy diapers at her destination? —Or both? Oh, Lord, I am going to need so much advice. =)

      • Depends upon where we are going and whether diapers can be easily purchased. We are sometimes adventurous travelers. When we went to Egypt, brought our own. Spain & France? Just bought them there. Flying to California? Wouldn’t bother bringing for than enough for a day or so. Just get them there.

  2. Yay bed!! That is so exciting and it’ll be awesome for co-sleeping. =) Glad you had a great day over the weekend and hope you continue to feel good today. That’s perfect timing for your mom’s visit to give you a hand with the little bird on his first flight.

    I am quite tickled by the Pete story and that would be too darn funny if the little bird came on the 23rd!

  3. i had an aunt peter (it is my dad’s name & i’m now really happy it’s not the bird’s) & her given name was frances but her dad wanted a boy. adele helen frances/peter. my dad is named after her. really.

    23rd sounds mighty fine.

    i love hazarding wished for days only to find the day that happens has its own magic.

  4. That final surge of energy is nesting, which usually means that true labor isn’t far behind. I am wishing you all the best. I also love the Pete story.

    Traveling with a newborn probably means checking a bag and a carseat, if not a stroller. Definitely get your mom to help. You will need a TON of stuff, more than you can imagine, unless you can borrow some on the other end.

    Also, just because I am really nervous and obsessive on this count, newborns don’t have a fully functioning immune system until they’re six weeks old. He’ll be getting antibodies from breast milk and the ones he has now through the placenta, but they are woefully susceptible to illness, especially in cold and flu season. My pediatrician counseled against flying with them until they were six weeks or older. I had to miss an academic conference that I’d planned for two years because of when my son was born (obviously, two years previously I hadn’t expected him).

    Be safe and well.

    • Yeah, it’s not ideal, but new babies travel all the time; I’ll just forbid anyone touching him with unwashed hands. I’ve got to go, and I can’t leave him.

      • They do travel, but it doesn’t mean they don’t get sick. Take a big bottle of Purell, keep him nestled close to you, and don’t show him to people. Keep him wrapped up and when people want to take a peek, say no! You really can.

        I would say that the carseat is the biggest annoyance. I bought one of the travel bags for it so that it wouldn’t get thrashed when chucked around. Do you have one of the snap-in Graco ones, or a similar kind? Maybe someone at the other end will have a base so that you don’t have to take yours.

        I am really excited for you, and very excited for Cricket to meet his brother, one day very soon.

  5. I always find it somewhat relaxing to fly with my kid (maybe relaxing is the wrong word)–but once we get through airport security, there’s nothing to do but pay attention to her, and there’s nothing I can do until we get where we are going. I enjoy the single focus.

    You can check a carseat for free–if you have the carseat in a travel bag, that also means you can stuff in some extra things (blankets, diapers, clothes, whatever). Might not be enough to take everything you need, but it is definitely worth it to travel as hands-free as you can.

    • I was going to ask about that carseat thing—I think I’ve seen parents check them for free at planeside—so thanks so much for explaining it.

      • Try to take the car seat on the plane with you. As long as the plane isn’t fully booked, you can use it on the plane otherwise it gets gate checked. It is much safer for the child to be in a car seat than in your arms. Sudden turbulence has caused adults to be seriously injured and fall about the cabin. Imagine that with your baby. The reason airlines don’t require car seats is that many people cannot afford to pay for the second seat that guarantees the space. But think about it. Car seats are required for a drive in the car that goes, maximum, about 70-75 mph (or faster if you have a lead foot). But not in a large mental object miles above the Earth and going 500 mph? Kind of crazy.

      • Gretchen has a great point. I didn’t fly with mine until he was six months old, and I took the carseat so that I wouldn’t have to hold him for entire five hour flight. It is expensive to buy another seat, but if it’s about safety, it’s small beans.

  6. I flew with my daughter when she was 2 months old and it wasn’t too bad. I wheeled her in her stroller and car seat combo and I checked it at the gate. There was no additional fee for it. I was able to board the plane early and avoided the rush of people – definitely do this if you can. Ask the agents at the gate if you can get on early. They are usually happy to get you out of the way.

    Going through security without my husband was a pain, but the employees were pretty sympathetic and helped load the car seat and stroller onto the belt. Again, they want to move you through quickly so they were willing to help.

    I did notice that when I brought out my nursing cover and started to nurse her, it ran people off :-/ Its like they were terrified of a nursing mom. One guy actually moved to another row.. At least I had more room after he left.

    Good luck on the travel!

Leave a Reply

