Jessica asks:

Do you still make a CD for Cricket every year?  What type of music do you send?

I do! In fact, I’ve been polishing this year’s mix over the last week or so. It’s a pretty eclectic mix—the most they have in common is that there are no curse words in the songs—but this year’s cd looks like this:

“Hold Tight” by Dave Dee, Dozy, Beaky, Mick & Tich

"Apache" by Jorgen Ingmann

"La La La La Lemon" by Barenaked Ladies

“Rain, Rain Go Away” by Al Bowlly, Lew Stone, Nat Gonella, & The Monseigneur Band

“Mucha Muchacha” by Esquivel

“Surfin' U.S.A.” by The Beach Boys

“TMNT” by Cars Can Be Blue

“Pool Party” by the Aquabats

“I Wanna Be Like You” by Big Bad Voodoo Daddy

“Minnie the Moocher” by Cab Calloway and His Orchestra

“One Piece at a Time” by Johnny Cash

“I Know Things Now” by Danielle Ferland

“Tears On My Pillow” by Clem Snide

“Lovely, Love My Family” by The Roots

“Mr. Sandman” by Oranger

“‘C’ is for Cookie” by Cookie Monster

“Brush Brush Brush” by Of Montreal

“At the Codfish Ball” by Shirley Temple

“Photo Jenny” by Belle and Sebastian

“Joltin’ Joe DiMaggio” by Les Brown and His Orchestra

“Dance Myself to Sleep” by Bert and Ernie

“Would You Like to Buy an ‘O’?” by Ernie and the Salesman

“P My Favorite Letter” by The Anything People

“Supply and Demand” by The Hives

Unbelievably, a couple of the odder songs are not on YouTube. The cd I made the first year is still my favorite, but I've liked all three . . . and the cd for next year is already half finished.

[Jessica asked several questions, most of which are coming down the pipe. This, however, turned out huge . . . since I couldn't stop myself linking some of the songs. So, here's a foretaste!]

4 thoughts on “Jessica asks:

  1. I have to say that is so great! What a neat idea, and so loving. On a personal note, I LOVE “Dance yourself to sleep.” It was a favorite of mine in childhood and became sort of a family treasure.

Leave a Reply

