Good News and Bad News

The good news is that I am not losing hair because of the Mirena, and can keep the IUD. The bad news is that I apparently have an auto-immune disorder that is causing me to lose hair in patches. The NP at Planned Parenthood told me that I need to see a primary care provider . . . and then looked at me, realized that I don’t have insurance, and said “Or you could do what my girlfriend did and shave your head.” She was very nice. Suddenly it’s less important that I look silly in hats; I am rocking a kerchief (okay, an ugly yellow bandana, but it’s what I’ve got) every day. I’ve developed a second bald spot and am still losing hair, and that’s that. Eventually, perhaps I will treat myself to a fancy wig. When I told the Mister, I cried—I don’t think of myself as vain, but I suppose I must be, because I’ve been surprised by how sad I am to lose my hair.

There’s more good news. The playdate went well, the bread (apple honey challah) was a hit, and she has said that (although she’s sick right now) she’d like for us to meet up again soon. Phew! I spent quite a bit of the playdate chasing Joey, who was all over the place, trying to flip light switches, yank on the blinds, flip over a lamp—you name it. At one point I referred to him as an introvert and the other mom was shocked; he’s an introvert with, hmm, very robust self-esteem, so he doesn’t look conventionally shy. If you watch, though, you’ll notice that he’s running around and exploring and fearless . . . and not approaching people he doesn’t know well. Joey did not enjoy seeing me exclaim over the other mom’s charming daughters, so clearly he needs more practice at it. Kit continues to love people, and he and the girls played together happily.

I think I’ll make turtles for the next playdate.

7 thoughts on “Good News and Bad News

  1. So sorry to hear that you’re sick, Susie. That sounds scary and I hope you are able to figure out something that will help you get better. And I don’t think it’s vanity to be shocked by unwanted and unexpected changes to your body! This is just a challenge in a lot of ways.

  2. I know someone whose hair came back too. I also just went a few weeks ago to find wigs with a friend in chemo and was amazed by how good and comfortable they are. But none of that’s so helpful right now; to feel freaked/sad/bummed re: hair loss makes a lot of sense.

  3. I understand the lack of insurance, but I would encourage you at a minimum to get your thyroid tested. The test isn’t expensive and thyroid replacement is very inexpensive – less than $5 a month.

Leave a Reply

